Top News

MMM may recreate the 1976 success formula (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

In an article dated 26, 06, 2018, we said the MMM can still go back to winning ways if it was to adopt the same strategy it did in 1976.

It was the second-best performance ever the MMM had recorded in that year, almost dislodging the Labour Party government from power.

Currently, the MMM is still struggling to find a winning formula to face the next General Elections, alone (We said that in 2018).

Now, the MMM is confirming it is going to contest the next GE alone. Good for the party as it goes back to its original principles.

We also said it is re-looking at the 1976 attempt to take power, working on a formula that might give it an edge.

In 1976, the MMM had Sir Aneerood Jugnauth as President and Paul Raymond Berenger as the Secretary-General.

SAJ was the candidate for Prime Minister and the formula was a success to the point the party became the biggest political formation in the country.

The MMM did fairly well winning the elections. But a sudden post-election alliance between the Labour Party and the PMSD outplayed it.

This time around, the MMM might just repeat the same performance.

But it has to adopt a formula that is acceptable to most voters. (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});


The party needs to consolidate its Front Bench in the current scenario.

Last year, there was a strong current suggesting the MMM should have firebrand and long-time MMM figure Madan Dulloo as main candidate.

However, we believe the Front Bench should be as follows: Paul Berenger, Madan Dulloo, Reza Uteem and Veda Baloomoody.

A source told us the MMM will have a solid fighting chance in this scenario.

“It might just be able to repeat the unexpected,” said the source.

A year ago, the MMM was struggling. After 2014, the party was at its lowest in terms of popular support.

But things have changed and with elections drums beating, the voters are regaining trust in the party.

They see the MMM as the only non-corrupt party where the corrupt leaders quit to join other parties. (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

Leave a Reply

Back To Top